Barely There Minerals

Barely There Minerals

Now I have mentioned Bare Minerals in a previous post, but now as I have been using it for several months, I thought I would do a more in depth review.

I originally bought Bare Minerals foundation for the Australian summer. I found it on offer at Debenhams and I’d been thinking of trying it for  a while, so I bit the bullet and paid £22 for this little pot of powder… and I couldn’t be happier. I threw the idea of just using it for hot weather to wearing it every day and I shall tell you why.

Being as you know very pale, I found the perfect shade for me, yep the lightest one, ‘fair’. Unfortunately they don’t do my shade in the Starter Kit, which I think is really good value if you can find the right colour for you! I think it includes a mini primer, brushes, mineral veil and something else. Ah well, I’m bitter about not being able to get it, so if this interests you go and Google it.

It is really like my own skin but better. Using a primer underneath, I use the Korres one, I buff it into my skin using my MakeupGeek foundation brush. This brush is awesome, go check out the MakeupGeek products here ! They are such good quality and value. I don’t think they sell the brush I use anymore, but they have another which is pretty similar.

The foundation is also multi purpose, it’s one of the best conceals I have ever used. It’s perfect for blemishes, they literally disappear off your face, I am not exaggerating! I need to take some before and after photos to illustrate this to you. This foundation doesn’t dry out the skin either which has surprised me greatly. I was worried that if I was having a bad skin day, I would have to return to my usual (and also amazing) Revlon Colourstay liquid foundation. But the powder goes onto the skin seamlessly.

Mineral makeup appeals to me because it contains properties that are good for your skin. It is made without preservatives, contains SPF15 and it meant to promote overall healthy skin. Bare Minerals claim that its ‘makeup you can sleep in’… Errr I wouldn’t recommend this, but if you just happen to fall asleep with your makeup on, it won’t block your pores and make you break out.

So I will be buying this again… and again… and again. I have seen on the bareescentuals website that they have just released a pressed powder foundation with an spf of 20. I’m so excited for this! I have contacted Mecca Cosmetics here in Australia and they have told me that this product won’t be released in Australia until Feb 2013… this sucks. So looking for it online might be your best bet if you live downunder. I’ve read great reviews of this product, and if I can get my hands on it, I will give it a whirl and let you know how it is.

Pictures of before and after soon to be added. I am currently at work (making great use of office time by blogging) and so I can’t really stand around and pose for you. That will be tonight 🙂

I hope you found this review helpful. Any questions feel free to leave a comment below.

Hope.

Leave a Reply

