It’s Curl Time

It’s Curl Time

After attempting to curl my hair with friends GHD’s and completely failing, I decided to buy a curling iron whilst I am over here in Oz. I did a bit of research online and found that Target seem to have the most and they aren’t that expensive. I stood in the hair tools aisle for what seemed like a life time. So many different curling irons that say they do different things. How was I to choose?

If you wanna know which iron I chose and how to get gorgeous curls, keep reading 🙂


I eventually narrowed it down to two; the Remmington Hot Wand or another Remmington one which had a clamp. There was a $10 price difference between each but both had very similar features.

  • Variable Heat Settings.
  • World Wide Voltage (so I can take it home with me!)
  • 30 seconds heat up time

The only real difference was the clamp… I know I have watched so many YouTube tutorials on curling your hair with both types of iron. I wondered whether $10 would make a big difference in the quality of the product?

After much deliberation, I went with the Remmington Hot Wand and I am so pleased I did. This is an AMAZING curling iron ! It really does take only 30 seconds to heat up and curls last such a long time. My hair doesn’t usually hold curls that well, it takes a lot of effort to get them to stay in. But with this, they last at least 2 days!

This iron is pretty easy to use. It comes with a heat protective glove to you don’t burn your hand when you are wrapping the hair around.  I watched a tutorial by ItsJudyTime, one of my fave Beauty Gurus, to get the technique right, and I picked it up almost immediately.

When it comes to curling my hair, there are a few new products that I have bought.

Tresemme Heat Protector Spray – essential for curling, straightening or blowdrying you hair.

Tresemme Hair Laquer – I LOVE this !!! My curls stay in all day and my hair dosesn’t feel too crispy. I believe this is the strongest hairspray they do and the can is huge! As much as I love my Loreal hairspray, this Tresemme one is so much stronger.

I curl my hair at certain times of the day, depending on the style I want. For work, I tend to curl it the night before and sleep on it. Then, once I wake up the curls aren’t too bouncy. What amazes me about this curling iron is that, even when my hair is a bit fluffy after washing it, the curl still holds just as well.

Curled hair to sleep on

For soft waves, I curl my hair in two layers and then brush through them gently with my Tangle Teezer.

Soft waves. (Say hi to my friends Anna & Alex)

For Taylor Swift inspired curls, I separate the top section of my hair and tie it out of the way and then split the hair on either side to make it easier for me to curl all the hair. Once I have curled the bottom section, I take out the tied hair and then curl this, making sure the pieces at the front are curled away from my face. A bit of hairspray and red lipstick, I am good to go. The red lip I am wearing in this photo is Urban Decay Super Saturated Lip Colour in F-Bomb.

T.Swizzle Style

I really can’t recommend this curling iron enough. Even though it does take a bit of practice, the results so really worth it!

If you already have curly hair, you should check out my friend’s blog http://heycurlfriend.wordpress.com/ She reviews products and gives tips to all your curly haired beauties. Check it out!

Leave a Reply

