I Heart Drug Store Makeup Tag (I’M BACK)

I Heart Drug Store Makeup Tag (I’M BACK)

Hello my beauties. I have to apologise for the massive lack of posts recently. I left Melbourne, Australia at the end of December and did some traveling to Sydney, Gold Coast, Hawaii, LA.

DSCN2565DSCN2681

DSCN2775DSCN2911

 

 

Now I’m back in England. I’m job hunting once again so my blog has been on the back burner for a bit. But I do love writing it, so I thought I’d do a quick little tag post to get things going again 😀 I hope you guys don’t mind. This tag has been making the rounds on Youtube, so I thought I’d cover the questions here.

I Heart Drug Store Makeup – The Questions:
1. What is your favorite drugstore makeup brand overall?
I’d probably have to say Revlon. I LOVE their foundation and they have a lot of great quality products for an awesome price. See the Revlon Lip Butters and their Kissable Lip Stains.
I will say that Rimmel have also really started to impress me. I was never a big fan of theirs, but I think they have upped their game in the last year. Their WakeMeUp Foundation is really good, so is their mascara and kohl eyeliner. So ‘go you’ Rimmel!
2. What are your favorite face, cheek and lip products?
My fave face products change all the time depending on what I’m doing/where I’m going/how my skin is. But if I had to pick:
Liquid Foundation – Revlon Colour Stay
Cheek – Dainty Doll Blushes (great for us pale folk) or Sleek blushes.
Lip – Ahh this is so hard, I have so many lip products (most in the colour pink). But best overall value, I’d say NYX Lipglosses or Revlon Lip Butters. They have such great pigmentation for the price. I just can’t get enough of them!
DSCN0940
3. Least favorite product?
This is tough because I rarely think about things that are my least favourite… The only thing I can think of are foundations that have really yellow undertones. They just don’t work for me! I am aware that its a rubbish answer but I need to have a better think about this one. I might do a whole separate post on ‘most hated products’ if you guys want lol.
4. What is the best makeup bargain?
Collection 2000 Lasting Perfection Concealer. It is the best concealer I have ever used, even compared to high end ones. Seriously, this is a gem of a products and it’s only a recent find for me. I don’t know how I ever lived without it!
5. What is your favorite underdog product? (Something you love that often gets overlooked?)
See above! That conceal is immense, everyone needs it ! It needs to get more hype!
6. A drugstore product that is overpriced?
MaxFactor mascaras !!! This is a massive pet peeve of mine! MaxFactor False Lash Effect Mascara is the exact same product to CoverGirl Lash Blast. I promise you, I’ve done the research, it’s not difficult to find. The two mascaras are made in the same place, by the same people. IT’S THE SAME PRODUCT, yet MaxFactor charge a crazy amount for it compared to its USA counterpart. It really bugs me. But it is a great mascara, I just stock up when I go to America 😛
7. Show your best drugstore dupe(s)!!
Sleek Blushes are really similar to Nars ones! In quality and in colour!
I love my Maybeline Gel Eyeliner and I have read online that its really similar to the Bobbi Brown Gel Liners. I haven’t been able to test this out myself, but the Maybeline one is incredible. I will link you to a ‘smack down’ article 🙂  HERE
Bourjois Little Round Blush Pots are so comparable to Chanel. Bourjois actually own Chanel, so this makes a lot of sense. If you wanna see an indepth review of these blushes check out this comparison by GossMakeupArtist
8. Drugstore product that isn’t worth the hype?
The Western Drug Store BB Creams… I’ve tried loads of different ones from Boots on my hand and I wasn’t impressed with any of them to be honest. That might just be because I’m quite pale, or just picky, but they all just seemed really thick and orange to me. I am half way through writing a review on 2 Eastern BB Creams from Skin79 which I will post soon! So yeah, not a massive fan of the ‘wannabe’ BB Creams.
I tag you ! Answer these questions in the comments below and let me know your best and worst drug store products 🙂
Thanks for sticking with me everyone!
Hope x
Leave a Reply

