Cheating on my favourite mascara!

Cheating on my favourite mascara!

For the past year or so, my favourite mascara has been my beloved CoverGirl Lash Blast fusion! It has been my trusty companion for quite some time and I feel like I am cheating on it. “I’ve been by your side for months….years….. how can you do this to me? I’ve always been there fore you!” Mascara can be so dramatic!

LashBlast ran out a few days ago and as I’m not going to America for another few weeks, I needed to try something new and I am so glad I did! Now I know a few days of testing doesn’t usually warrant a review, but here is my first impressions review:

wpid-wp-1442439631994.jpeg

I may be slow to join the bandwagon, but hello Maybelline ‘The Falsies’. This is the first mascara which leaves my lashes curled all day! My lashes usually grow pretty straight, they never really hold curl and I thought they never would.

This is after 10 hours of wear! I’m amazed!

wpid-screenshot_2015-09-15-20-44-20_1.jpg

Please excuse my eyebrows, they are in need of a threading!

This stuff is really one of the best mascaras I have ever used. It does what I wanted the Benefit They’re Real to do! I hated that mascara by the way, horrible formula and made my lashes fall out! OUCH!

I always buy waterproof mascara, mainly because those kind of formulas make the curl last longer. I’ve tested the waterproof-ness (pretty sure that’s not a word, don’t judge me) of this mascara and boy does it have staying power. Here is me post shower after washing my face…

wpid-screenshot_2015-09-15-20-46-32_1.jpg

It’s still on!

My Garnier Micellar Water isn’t helping to get this off which I was surprised about. Garnier did an ok job of getting rid of my LashBlast but Falsies is having none of it, so this evening I tried using olive oil and it’s worked quite well! I will eventually buy an oil based makeup remover, but for now, it will do!

wpid-imag0415.jpg

I do have some Bioderma in stock so I shall see if that is any better at removing this mascara, but I doubt it! If anyone would like a comparison between the Garnier and the Bioderma Micellar Water just let me know in the comments.

Pros 

  • Long lasting curl
  • Very dark pigmentation
  • False lash effect
  • Doesn’t come off easily

Cons

  • ^^ Doesn’t come off easily!
  • The brush is a little too bendy (I know that’s picky but it’s difficult to think of cons)

I bought this mascara from SuperDrug for £7.99 and definitely recommend it! As this is a first impressions review, I shall update this post with any new info I find!

Have you tried this mascara? What did you think?

Hope x

Removal update: went for a post work wander in SuperDrug and picked up this Nivea Double Effects Eye Makeup Remover and it works a treat! It’s an oil based formula which lifts stubborn water proof makeup and is gentle so it won’t sting your eyes.

wpid-wp-1442439637766.jpeg

 It’s also really inexpensive, so I recommend you give this a go if you choose to pick up the mascara. Even the woman on the till mentioned how easy it was to take off makeup with that remover!

6 thoughts on “Cheating on my favourite mascara!

  1. Is it as bad as the benefit one for not coming off? because that stuff feels like cement on my eyelashes! Also gimmie a picture of the actual packaging so I know what to look for please! love love xx

    1. I’d say it was similar but not as painful to remove. That was my problem with the Benefit mascara, it irritated my eyes so much trying to get it off.
      An oil based makeup remover (or in my case just olive oil) will break it down and remove it properly.
      I will put up a pic this evening, that would be helpful wouldn’t it! Xx

  2. I love your blog, your posts are beautiful! I just followed you, it would be great if we can support each other 🙂 I am so glad I got to discover you ❤

Leave a Reply

