Keeping Up with the Red Heads

Keeping Up with the Red Heads

wpid-wp-1443209781826.jpeg

I’ve had my ginger hair for two years and I’ve been contemplating a change for a while, so this past month I took the plunge!

Red hair is notorious for being difficult to maintain! It’s very quick to fade and that makes dyeing a frequent occurrence. The colour I wanted to go for was something more wintry, I wanted more of a red/cherry shade. After spending quite some time in the dye aisle of Superdrug, I picked up Garnier Olia Dark Garnet. I have used the same brand but the 7.4 shade and quite liked it. I felt that my hair was a lot less dry after colouring so I thought I would definitely give this one a whirl.

wpid-imag0529.jpg

 

The dye is really easy to use, the instructions are clear and there is no offensive smell (unlike other brands I’ve tried). My lovely house mate helped me out as this was a new all over colour, we thought I would get a more even application.We followed the instructions, left it to process (using a plastic bag on my head so I wouldn’t dye our cream sofa too) and I washed and blow dried my hair with excitement.

However, I found the dye very difficult to wash out clear… I spent 20 minutes trying to wash it all out and I gave up in the end, my hair dripping pink. Once my hair was dry, I realised that the colour really wasn’t even at all. We covered my whole head so I was surprised that in some areas it hadn’t taken. I didn’t make much sense, there didn’t seem to be any pattern as too where the dye hadn’t worked. I’m not sure if this is something to do with the oil element of the product but it’s a possibility…

wpid-imag0543.jpg

 

wpid-imag0536.jpg
Colour Round 1

The next day, with assistance again, I used another box. Luckily I had bought 2 anyway as they were on offer. Repeating the whole process again, we focusing on the areas that hadn’t taken previously was the priority. Thankfully the second box did the trick!! It is still quite multi tonal but I am happy with it overall!

wpid-imag0551.jpg

GARNIER OLIA

Pros

  • affordable
  • great colour selection
  • easy to apply.

Cons

  • Uneven application. (Definitely buy 2 boxes)!
  • Difficult to wash out fully.

Maintenance

To maintain my colour I took a recommendation from my friend Meg. She’s had her hair so many colours she’s always someone I ask advice regarding my hair! She told me to buy Scott Cornwall – Colour Restore. This was a slightly more expensive product than I would usually buy, £12.99 from Boots, but if it can save me dyeing my hair every 5 weeks then I would try anything.

scott

I’m so pleased I took Meg’s advice because this stuff is awesome. It’s reusable and you can use as little or as much as you want. The longer you leave it on, the brighter your colour will go. It acts like a conditioner also, so my hair has been feeling so soft and healthy. Soft and healthy? Not a common phrase from someone who dyes their hair!

The first time I used it, I only used a very small amount as I wanted to test it out… I was afraid my hair might turn bright red so put it all over my hair but only left it on for 5 minutes. Today I did a top up, put my hair in a pony tail post shampoo and ran the dye through the pony tail, leaving it on for around 6 or 7 minutes. My ginger ends have been fighting back against the red so I want to give them a boost. If you have red hair I think you should give this a go because I known it’s going to save me from redyeing my hair so frequently!

Pros

  • Reusable
  • You can you as little or as much as you want
  • Makes hair feel soft and healthy

Cons 

  • I cant really think of any! Maybe price but I do think it will last me a long time so I can warrant the spend.

wpid-wp-1448195820902.jpeg

I hope that was helpful for you guys!

Hope x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Keeping Up with the Red Heads

Leave a Reply

