Charlotte Tilbury Hot Lips 

Charlotte Tilbury Hot Lips 

I’ve wanted to treat myself to a nice lipstick for a while and yesterday I found the perfect opportunity. Charlotte Tilbury has released some new lipstick shades in two different formulas – Matte Revolution and Kiss.  These are done in conjunction with a collection of Hollywood A-listers who have created their own perfect shade.

I went to the Selfridges counter and was helped by a very friendly assistant. She seemed very knowledgeable, she showed me some other products too but wasn’t pushy which was great. I tried a couple of them on the back of my hand and then asked if I could try a couple on. I initial tried Very Victoria by Victoria Beckham as I wanted a nude pink colour that I can wear everyday. After trying this one on, I felt that it looked a bit more on the brown side so I looked again… wp-1468482488481.jpg

Nicole Kidman’s shade is called Kidman’s Kiss and as she is a fellow pale lady this is the one I thought would suit me best. I usually don’t wear matte lipsticks because I find they dry my lips out too much. This formula is matte but for once not drying as it contains “oils, triglycerides and waxes glide on for buildable, long-lasting colour”. I have only been wearing it for the past two days but I can say that this is true.

The packaging is so cute! The case is metal with a rose gold effect and feels very luxurious. The actual lipstick bullet is designed with a kind of square point that makes application easier.

wp-1468482478874.jpgThe shade is described as a “just-kissed rose petal-pink is so dreamy, it’s reminiscent of the flourish of colour on the lips in hand-painted photographs in the 1930s”.and suites pale skin really well, I love it. The lipstick is quite true to color, I took this picture before I left for work this morning in natural day light. I lined my lips with an E.L.F lip liner that is a very similar shade to my own lips and applied the lipstick straight from the bullet. For a more defined look you can also use a small lip brush. I think it’s a perfect everyday shade and I definitely think I will be treating myself to a few more of these in the coming months. wp-1468483310088.jpg

As for longevity, this lipstick really does stay put, even with eating and drinking it hasn’t vanished or gone everywhere like most other lipsticks I own! It has faded a little as my lunch contained pesto with is olive oil based, but it’s still visible and hasn’t left a horrible lip outline for all to see. I’m very very impressed.

Hot Lips are the same price as the rest of the Charlotte Tilbury lipstick collection – £23.00 and £1.00 from each lipstick sold will be donated to Women for Women International. This charity aims to help women from war torn countries.

Hot Lips are available in store at Selfridges or her official website

 

Leave a Reply

